labportali/ July 22, 2018/ territorio


Sarrabus is a geographical area located in the South Eastern part of Sardinia. The territory of Sarrabus borders to the North with Salto di Quirra and the mountains of Cardiga, to the West with Gerrei, to the East with the Tyrrhenian sea and to the South with the SetteFratelli mountains massif, Mount Arbu, Mount Minniminni and Capo Carbonara. It is an area characterised by a variety of landscapes, which includes wetlands, beaches, mountains and the Flumendosa plains. The Municipalities of Sarrabusare areBurcei, Castiadas, Muravera, San Vito, Villaputzu and Villasimius.


 Things to visit

  • The Regional Park of the Sette Fratelli (“Seven Brothers”)
  • The Minni Minni forest
  • The Sarrabus Geomining Park
  • Marine Protected Area of Capo Carbonara
  • Natural Oasis of Capo Ferrato
  • The marshes of Notteri and Piscina Rei
  • The marshes of Colostrai and Feraxi
  • The marshes of San Giovanni
  • The marshes of Murtas and S’acquaDurci


The territory of Gerrei is is connected to Sarrabus through Flumendosa and corresponds to the middle course of the river. The landscape is characterised by a series of plateaus and hills of ancient origin, with an ecosystem composed of Mediterranean scrub, cork oak woods, holm oaks and olive trees. The area has historically been a territory for cattle crossing from the Flumendosa valley to the innermost mountains. The municipalities of the area are: Armungia, Ballao, San Basilio, Sant’Andrea Frius, Escalaplano, Goni, San Nicolò Gerrei, Silius and Villasalto.

Things to visit

  • The historical centre and the Armungia Museum System
  • The Temple at the Sacred Well of “Funtana Cuberta” in Ballao
  • The “Su Suergiu” mine in Villasalto
  • The archaeological park of “Pranu Mutteddu” in Goni
  • Monte Genis
  • Sassai Castle in Silius

contact the guide